12 comments on ““The Hunters of Vermin” is OUT!

  1. Loving it, Paul, as always. But is it Maxime or Maxwell? You’re using both. Thanks, Dr. Jim Franklin, TN

    • It’s Maxime. He is named after Maxime Faget, the brilliant aerospace engineer who was the lead designer for the Mercury spacecraft, the Apollo Command Module, and the Space Shuttle. He also played a significant, but lesser role in Gemini–he headed the department that designed it and supervised but the primary design work was done by another guy whose name escapes my damaged brain right now.

      If there’s a “Maxwell” or two in there, it’ a typo. Possibly that bleeding cursed spell-check that continually tries to change “Maxime” to “Maxwell” and, when I update my dictionary, deletes the change with every update to Microsoft Office (which seem to happen every few months). The beauty of Kindle is that I can fix it and all future downloads will be correct

  2. Fantastic! Loved it. Have been waiting eagerly for it. I have all the audio books as well and hope after you publish say 3 novellas the collection could become an audio book. I am sooo glad you are writing again. Can’t wait to see how you extract Max and his crew. I would also love to see some tales about
    Admiral Hornmeyer who is a GREAT secondary character and deserves some stories of his own.

  3. Brilliant! I was itching for something to read this weekend and then I got an updatefrom your blog and lo, my choice is already made!

  4. Found an Opps…you have the sugar was right handed in both species and the protein was left handed in BOTHspecies…..so no difference! I think you intended the proteins to be opposite handed. This is true in the kindle version, I can’t speak to other versions

    • It would help if you would give me a location reference so I know what you’re talking about. Chirality is mentioned at several points in the book. Thanks for writing, though. I appreciate it.

    • Hi Paul,

      Read it and really enjoyed the insight within such a mysterious and yet hilarious race. The only strange thing is Doctor gender seems to get mixed up? Again, I will need to reread that chaper.

  5. When will your next book be out in paper? not could combine a couple novelettes into a book.

    • I don’t know whether the shorter works will ever be issued in a paper version (although audiobook versions are currently in production and should be available in a few months). There has never been much in the way of paperback sales for any of my work–never more than 5% or so of total units. Formatting the paper editions is time-consuming and is something that my wife does for me. She is very busy with her own fantasy novels and just has not had the time to invest a few days into churning out the paper versions of these works, particularly given what would likely be the very, very small return on that investment.

      This is not to say that there will never be paper versions, only that we have more urgent things to do right now that have a much larger likely financial upside.

Leave a comment